a more healthy version of Taco’s!

I know… you look at the pictures and say…. How in the world is this a healthy version of tacos? It looks like Taco bell or something! Well, I am going to tell you! The areas where the fat is not take out is the tortillas and the queso. Everything else is MUCH healthier! I made fresh salsa, fresh guacamole and used greek yogurt in the place of sour cream(you really can’t taste the diff.). Making these sides fresh not only takes out preservatives, but also sugar and salt! For the rice, I always use whole wheat, chicken stock(low sodium), onions and canned diced tomatoes. Once I start the rice(b.c it takes the longest) I place a whole garlic in foil and drizzle with olive oil. wrap the foil around the garlic and place in a 425 degree oven for 20-25 min. Roasted garlic has such a sweet flavor. For the tacos… I diced up 1/2 of a spanish onion and 3 jalapenos. Saute in the pan until tender. Add 1 lb. of 97% lean ground beef. I also had some inexpensive cuts of steak that were very thin. So I cut them into strips and added to the pan as well. Normally I like to do my own seasonings. But, with tacos… I take a pkg. of taco seasoning and add a little cumin. Cumin is great in any Tex-Mex/Spanish dish! Then I took 2 cloves of the roasted garlic and added to the pan(once the rest of the garlic is cool, take the garlic out of its casing and place in a plastic bag for later use and place in the fridge). Cook until all the meat is browned. I don’t eat fast food, but while I was shopping I saw some type of taco bell product that had a picture of a hard taco shell with a flour tortilla wrapped around it. This gave me an idea. My husband always likes hard shell taco’s and I always eat soft. I hate when the shell breaks on you! So  decided to try it like taco bell(this is the fatty part lol). I took a flour tortilla, added queso, placed a hard shell on top. Added the meat, rice, a dash of shredded cheese and lettuce. And waaalllllaaaa!!! You have taco bell with around 1/2 the calories! Happy eating y’all!

Leave a comment